//
you're reading...
The Diaries

Swami’s Physics lesson!

For me, Swami is with me always, in whatever I do.

I studied at Swami’s college for Women, Anantapur campus from 1982-85. In fact, our batch was the first batch of the newly formed university. I would like to share a small incident from  that time long ago. This event took place in March, 1984.

I was then in my fourth semester of Bachelor of Science. We were studying a topic in Physics-  Interference and Diffraction.  This was a topic I could not understand-at all! All my friends tried to explain it to me, to no avail. Then our teacher Mrs. Rani tried, again with no positive result. Irrespective of what they tried, I just could not get the concept into my head! Finally, I got fed up and decided to leave it to Swami.

A friend and I used to often study together. On the night of March 24th 1984,  we both sat together, studying for our exam the next day. Disheartened with my inability to grasp the topic, I told my friend that instead of cracking my head further over it, I’m going to bed.  Swami, I told her, will explain it to me in my dreams.

That night, as nodded off, Swami appeared in my dream. He stood in the hostel corridor and called me to Him. Excited, I ran to Him, carrying my Physics textbook  by Resnick and Hallidey. Swami took the book from my hand and then proceeded to explain to  me the whole concept-with diagrams and practical stuff! He explained it so patiently and so well!

He then asked me if I had seen the problem on page 108.  I replied in the negative. He told me “You have so many life problems, where are you going to look at it.”  Then He told me to go through it.  Before He left, He gave me Padanamaskar.

I woke up, very, very happy.  I ran to tell all my friends that I had finally understood the chapter-very well at that! Alas, I told them, I forgot to do the problem on Page 108!

My friends, happy with that unexpected piece of ‘inside’ information, immediately opened the book to Page 108 and went through the problem included there, as Swami had instructed me!

As expected, the same problem came in the exam that day, and of course, all my friends were able to do it.

For me, the most beautiful part of the story is that even after 26 years I have not forgotten the chapter as Swami explained it to me. Today, I  am a teacher myself, and teach the same Interference and Diffraction to my students- the SAME way Swami taught me. I use the same examples and the same practical explanations He used then. Amazingly, in all these years, none of my students ever make a mistake in that chapter!

After all these years, I don’t know why I felt like sharing this amazing personal story with you all. I am very happy now. Thank you. Sai Ram.

Posted by Mrs. Bhuvaneshwari Raghunandan
Alumnus, Anantapur Campus, 1982-85

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Swami’s Physics lesson!

  1. This is so cool 🙂

    Posted by sidzonline85 | June 6, 2012, 8:54 pm
  2. Lovely…!

    Posted by SB | June 7, 2012, 9:47 am
  3. It would be entertaining and knowledgeable, if you could post also, how Swami explained the concepts, at least a bit. Please. Thanks in advance. Sairam!

    Posted by Pardhu | June 7, 2012, 6:08 pm
  4. amazing experience…i pray that all our alumni keep sharing such wonderful experiences they have had with our beloved Lord and make face book a little more useful…

    Posted by Nishit Shah | June 7, 2012, 11:25 pm
  5. Dear ma..This sounds Mystical..and interesting….sounds like we all need to know about interference and diffraction…If it wouldnt be too much to ask….would you share with us what swami taught you exactly? Please 🙂

    Posted by Barthi Dasan | June 9, 2012, 1:25 am
  6. Lovely. I like the part where swami says “You have so many problems…” Humour is something he can’t be without I guess :).

    Posted by BVS Prathap | July 23, 2012, 7:54 pm
  7. Lovely experience maam…

    Posted by Gautham Narendran | August 2, 2012, 5:15 pm
  8. what a lovely experience..if you don’t mind can you please let us know the concepts swami has explained so that we can also teach in that fashion to our children on that topic.

    Posted by chhaya kotta | August 6, 2012, 8:41 pm
  9. very beautiful experience.

    Posted by Manoj Prakash | August 11, 2012, 10:17 pm

Leave a Reply

